News & Articles

Dans, Owen and Megardichian added to Swimming Canada’s Board of Directors

OTTAWA – Swimming Canada has added three new members to its Board of Directors. President Mary Lyne will continue to oversee the board, along with Vice President Meaghan Sharp and Dawn Wilson who will continue her role as Secretary.

“It’s an honour to be elected to another term as President of Swimming Natation Canada,” said Lyne. “I look forward to working with my Board colleagues and external partners on the strategic, policy and governance priorities for the organization. In addition, we will be focused on ensuring our support and guidance for Acting CEO Suzanne Paulins, her leadership team, and the staff across SNC, as we head into the Paris 2024 Olympic and Paralympic year.”

Matt Dans, a former University of Toronto Varsity Blues swim team member, will be one of the three new faces to join. Dans competed at the varsity and national level before taking on masters swimming. Sports are a large part of his life, as he works with MSLE’s Sports Performance Lab as a research and design consultant, focusing on sports analytics. He brings a depth of knowledge of sport and a special understanding of swimming.

Joining Dans is Susan Owen. The former swimmer competed for 14 years at the age group, varsity and masters levels and will now bring her knowledge to Swimming Canada’s board. She is President of Impreza Consulting with a focus on strategy, board governance and organizational effectiveness. Owen will bring her expertise as a serving member on over 50 boards across North America.

The final addition to round out the new 2023-2024 Board of Directors members is lawyer, Migan Megardichian. She has previously served on sports boards at both the provincial and federal level. The former Toronto City Councillor has a passion for sports including working as a volunteer during the 2015 Pan American Games with the Commercial Rights Management group. Her current work involves negotiating, policy development and implementation, and risk identification and management as part of her career with TELUS.

Swimming Canada would like to thank outgoing board members Michael Edgson, Mike Brown and Jonathan Clarke. Edgson will continue to serve as a member of the High Performance Committee, while Clarke will continue as a member of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.

More information about Swimming Canada’s Board of Directors can be found on Swimming Canada’s website.