Select Coaches Group

2021-2022 Select Coaches Program

As Swimming Canada works towards its mission of being amongst the world leading swimming nations, one strategic aim is to enhance the development of a sustainable stream of world leading High Performance Coaches. To that end, Swimming Canada has developed a number of professional development programs that have provided opportunities to over 155 coaches in Canada since 2014.

The 2021-2022 season program included 2 virtual group sessions for the Advanced Coaches with Elton Fernandes, HPC-Ontario, MSc. Sport Scientist with Canadian Sport Institute of Ontario and Physiologist with HPC Ontario. They developed and submitted a number of Targeted Training Sets that were reviewed by Elton Fernandes and Tom Vandenbogaerde, performance Scientist, CSI Pacific. The theme of the 2022 Select Coaches Program was based on energy systems, targeted set design and the progression of key sets over the course of a macro-cycle. The sessions included presentations and small breakout group discussions.

We are pleased to announce that the following coaches took part in the Swimming Canada’s Select Coaches Group for 2022:

  Select Coaches Group

Name Club Province
Baker, Judy WDSC BC
Bennett, Haley RAC BC
Chung, Vincent CHENA BC
Daly, Justin SPART BC
Moores, Sierra UBC BC
Sirup, Leanne DST BC
Stewart, Jy PSW BC
Wilson, Scott VPSC BC
Chantaj, Mark SRAYS AB
Dawson, Alex GPP AB
Gaudreau, Jaimie PRSC AB
Lapointe, Nick UCSC AB
Munro, Baylee OSC AB
Serediak, Lesley OSC AB
Simonson, Carl UCSC AB
Zucchi, Lucien RDCSC AB
Hitchings, Steven GOLD SK
Nieuwstad, Craig RODS SK
Panizza, Tommaso MANTA MB
Babi, Endi BTSC ON
Bond, Paulina WES ON
Burton, Haylie WCW ON
D’Souza, Brett ESWIM ON
Ellul, Chris SCAR ON
Hyslop, Janet KSS ON
Keith, Vicki VVF ON
Macdonald, Amanda ROCS ON
Mcleod, John TBT ON
Nichols, Laura GMAC ON
Renaud, Olivier WS ON
Toro, Eddie NYAC ON
Varga, Edit NEW ON
Bergeron, Marie TORP QC
Blais, Alexandre SHER QC
Blouin, Jonathan SAMAK QC
King , Savannah MCGILL QC
l’Écuyer, Chrystèle Roy NN QC
Laoubi, Salim ELITE QC
Lavallière, Jean-Michel CHP-QUE QC
Longtin, Dominique CAMO QC
Poirier, Amélie RED QC
Rolland, Nadine LLOU QC
Earle, Duffy MPM NL
Ramirez, Roman SJL NL
Allen, Ryan CNBO NB
Melanson, Melanie CVAC NB
Bates, Miranda TCSC NS
Cormier, Chris HTAC NS
McGrann, Mark HTAC NS
Miles, Zoe SWAT NS

Advanced Coaches Group

Name Club Prov
Hoeben, Tina KISU BC
Pettifer, Robert RAPID BC
Tissira, Abderrahmane SFU BC
Birmingham, Paul EKSC AB
Johnson, Wendy CASC AB
Allen, Jason GO ON
Burton, Don OSA ON
Henze, Dean SLSC ON
Novak, Robert ESWIM ON
Arkhurst, Greg CAMO QC
Brooks, Michael NN QC
Gingras, Martin PCSC QC
Belsh, Marta FAST NB

Swimming Canada will be announcing the 2022-2023 program content and application/nomination process soon.